Nominees & Winners

Best Number Games Advertising

Slovenia - Loterije Slovenije - ‘The Lotric family 1977’

United Kingdom - Camelot - ‘Fisherman’

The Netherlands - Nederlandse Loterij - ‘Frekkel’ = winner

Best Instant Games Advertising

France - La Française des Jeux - ‘Morpion’

Estonia - Eesti Loto - ‘Gift ticket for Christmas’

Norway - Norsk Tipping - ‘Shit in Space’ = winner

Best Sports Games Advertising

The Netherlands - Nederlandse Loterij - ‘Koning Toto’

Malta - Maltco Lotteries Ltd - ‘Superstar’

Norway - Norsk Tipping - ‘Feelings’ = winner

Best Corporate Advertising

Greece - OPAP - ‘Responsible gaming’ 

Norway - Norsk Tipping - ‘Give dream a chance’  = winner

United Kingdom - Camelot - ‘Haircut’


Advertising Awards



The EL Advertising Awards are a traditional component of every EL Congress, designed to acknowledge and promote best practice in lottery and sports betting industry advertising.

The Antwerp 2019 Advertising Awards are announced in 4 categories:

  • Category 1: Best Number Games Advertising, broadcast on TV / cinema / YouTube / social media

  • Category 2: Best Instant Games Advertising, broadcast on TV / cinema / YouTube / social media

  • Category 3: Best Sports Games Advertising, broadcast on TV / cinema / YouTube / social media

  • Category 4: Best Corporate Advertising, broadcast on TV / cinema / YouTube / social media

After being shortlisted, this year’s category winners will have been selected by the participants of the EL Congress 2019 in Antwerp, 26-29 May 2019 and awarded during the closing dinner of the Congress. On top of that, Grand Prix Advertising Award, representing the best advertisement overall and selected by a panel, will also be awarded during the closing dinner.

Members of the Jury

Chairman: Ray Bates, Honorary President EL President 1995 - 2001 and Former National Lottery Director, AnPost

Ray is passionate about education in gaming and lotteries. He served as Director of the Irish National Lottery from 1988 to 2006. He is currently a business consultant and Boards Director. He was the President of The European Lotteries for six years and served on the Board of the World Lottery Association (WLA) for four years. He is the Honorary President of EL.

20140822_1536261 (2).jpg

Arjan Van’t Veer, Secretary General, European Lotteries

Arjan Van’t Veer is passionate about cycling. He is the Secretary General of The European Lotteries since 2017. Starting his career in the world of lotteries in 1998, he is well known in the field. He served as the Director of Corporate Affairs at Nederlandse Loterij, responsible for all corporate communications, legal affairs, sponsorships and responsible gaming. Following his law studies, he obtained a doctoral degree on gambling regulation from the Erasmus University Rotterdam.

picture ELCU cv.jpg

Jutta Buyse, Deputy Secretary General, European Lotteries

Jutta Buyse is passionate about politics, regulation and Europe. She is the Deputy Secretary General of The European Lotteries since 2016 and has represented the Association in the Brussels office since 2009. Prior to joining EL, Jutta worked in Brussels-based European public affairs consultancies, advising companies and associations on the internal market, telecommunications, energy, health and social policy. She was formally a European Commission trainee with the Group of Policy Advisers.


Joke Vermoere, Creative Excellence Management, Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij

Joke Vermoere is passionate about chance. She started working at the Belgian National Lottery by sheer luck in 2004. After all these years she still finds herself incredibly fortunate to have stumbled upon the most creative and versatile job in the Lottery business. Responsible for the communication of the commercial brands and the corporate brand she works with creative people inside and outside the organization to shape the most compelling brand stories in order to engage our customers and make them believe in their chances.


Benedicte Lobelle, Director Players & Markets, Loterie Nationale / Nationale Loterij

Bénédicte Lobelle is passionate about art and sculpture. Sketching, thinking about how things that do not exist can come alive, using your imagination, doing things step by step, like moulding clay into a sculpture; organised and driven by intuition. Or as a bronze sculpture requires, a well thought construction of the mould, with a lot of patience to make it shine.

These are the similarities that she sees with her business responsibilities. Getting all the energy from shaping businesses and teams, finding a balance between organisation and intuition; between inspiration and realisation. Bénédicte has worked for many years in media and is now proud to be part of the team at Nationale Loterij.


Judging process

The EL 2019 Awards Committee will, as judging panel assess submissions against the defined criteria and select a shortlist in each category. To be admitted on the shortlist, the EL 2019 Awards Committee will judge entries against the following criteria:

  • Impact/effectiveness of the game/product

  • Information content (relevance to target audience)

  • Design/aesthetic appeal

  • Creativity

  • Ability to gain and maintain the customer’s attention (cut-through)

  • Ability to change customer perception.

  • Any other criteria the judging panel deems appropriate.

The shortlist will be established by the beginning of the EL Congress 2019.

The shortlisted submissions will be screened on the official Congress app, website and at the Trade Show during the congress. All delegates present at the Congress can vote once in each category for their favourite advertisement through the official app, throughout the Congress until Tuesday 28th May 2019 at 17:00 CET.

The winner of a category is the advertisement which has obtained the most votes in that category. In case of equal votes, the panel will select the winner between the equal advertisements.

The winners in each category will be announced and presented a trophy during the closing dinner on Tuesday, 28 May 2019.

From the four winning submissions of each category, the panel will select the Grand Prix Advertising Award winner on the basis of the above mentioned criteria and by simple majority.

The decision of the judges will be final and binding and appeals will not be entered into. Please note that submissions will not be returned following judging.

Schermafbeelding 2019-04-25 om 11.00.08.png